

Report No. 19-152

Information Only - No Decision Required

ELECTORAL OFFICER'S DECLARATIONS

1. PURPOSE

1.1. The purpose of this report is to inform Members of the results of the local government elections of 12 October 2019. The Declaration of Results is attached at Annex A.

2. **RECOMMENDATION**

It is recommended that Council:

a. receives the information contained in Report No. 19-152 and Annex.

3. FINANCIAL IMPACT

3.1. There is no financial impact associated with this item.

4. COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT

4.1. There has been wide media coverage about local body elections in the months leading up to the day of election, 12 October 2019.

5. SIGNIFICANT BUSINESS RISK IMPACT

5.1. There is no significant business risk associated with this item.

6. COMMENT

6.1. The approximate Voter Return Percentage at the elections held for the constituencies of Horowhenua, Manawatū-Rangitikei, Palmerston North, Ruapehu, and Tararua. was as follows:

Horowhenua	54.5%
Manawatū-Rangitikei	54.5%
Palmerston North	37.3%
Ruapehu	49.00%
Tararua	51.4%

6.2. There was no election in the Whanganui constituency as Crs Cotton and Patrick were elected unopposed.

7. SIGNIFICANCE

7.1. This is not a significant decision according to the Council's Policy on Significance and Engagement.

Craig Grant GROUP MANAGER CORPORATE & GOVERNANCE

22 October 2019



ANNEXES

A Declaration of Result of Election

DECLARATION OF RESULT OF ELECTION

MANAWATŪ-WHANGANUI REGIONAL COUNCIL (trading as Horizons Regional Council)

I hereby declare the result of the election on 12 October 2019 for the following constituencies:

CANDIDATES

NO. OF VOTES

HOROWHENUA CONSTITUENCY (two members)

Sam FERGUSON	5,560
Emma CLARKE	3,793
Lindsay BURNELL	3,709
Geoff KANE	3,549
Karen ADAMS	2,151
Owen GREIG	2,087
Michael KAY	1,621
Phil TAUEKI	1,045
Informal Votes	20
Blank Votes	639

I declare the said Sam FERGUSON and Emma CLARKE to be elected to the Horowhenua constituency.

MANAWATŪ-RANGITIKEI CONSTITUENCY (two members)

John TURKINGTON	5,843
Bruce GORDON	5,710
Gordon McKELLAR	5,138
Soraya PEKE-MASON	3,556
Teresa SCHULZ	2,862
Leslie PILLOW	828
Informal Votes	85
Blank Votes	865

I declare the said John TURKINGTON and Bruce GORDON to be elected to the Manawatū-Rangitikei constituency.

PALMERSTON NORTH CONSTITUENCY (four members)

Rachel KEEDWELL	10,936
Jono NAYLOR	10,329
Wiremu Kingi TE AWE AWE	9,547
Fiona GORDON	8,951
Chris TEO-SHERRELL	8,383
Jack DOWDS	7,052
Darryl CLELAND	4,674
Informal Votes	524
Blank Votes	1,015

I declare the said Rachel KEEDWELL, Jono NAYLOR, Wiremu Kingi TE AWE AWE and Fiona GORDON to be elected to the Palmerston North constituency.

RUAPEHU CONSTITUENCY (one member)

Weston Mervyn KIRTON	1,627
Richard STEELE	1,026
Moana ELLIS	775
Informal Votes	195
Blank Votes	232

I declare the said Weston Mervyn KIRTON to be elected to the Ruapehu constituency.

TARARUA CONSTITUENCY (one member)

Allan BENBOW	2,629
Lorraine STEPHENSON	1,684
Andrew DAY	1,665
Informal Votes	12
Blank Votes	315

I declare the said Allan BENBOW to be elected to the Tararua constituency.

WHANGANUI CONSTITUENCY (two members) There was no election for this constituency as David COTTON and Nicola PATRICK were elected unopposed.

Dated at Palmerston North this 17th day of October 2019

Craig Grant Electoral Officer Horizons Regional Council Palmerston North